Important Announcement for November!

Hello to all my fellow Chroniclers out there. I just decided to pop by and let you all know about something that is coming up for The Chronic Chronicler which I hope you will all be looking forward to.

Since November is coming up and people will be growing moustaches and beards for Movember and Don’t Shavember that raises awareness about men’s health issues, I thought I should be do something  for the blog that (hopefully) will give something greater exposure. For lack of a better title, though suggestions would be much appreciated, November will be No-English Moviember.

That’s right. For each Monday of November I shall be reviewing a film that was released in a non-English language. The film has to be reviewed in its original language and no dubbing of any kind is allowed. For this reason I am ruling out anime in my reviews as, although I love anime, there are many versions with English Dub and it would be too easy for people to watch them in English because it gives them the option.

So the films I will be reviewing this No-English Moviember (God I hope I come with a better name than that) will be:

  • Ernest et Célestine – Monday 3rd (French)
  • Wadjda – Monday 10th (Arabic)
  • Okurbito (English: Departures) – Monday 17th (Japanese)
  • Good Bye, Lenin! – Monday 24th (German)

I hope that you’ll enjoy these reviews as it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while. I feel that non-English language films do not get the coverage they should do on within the realm of film reviewing sites and, at least on my site, I want to rectify that.

I hope this will become a yearly thing to give non-English language films a greater profile as there is some really good stuff out there that people may not want to watch because of the language barrier and they don’t want to read subtitles.

Also please feel free to suggest some other non-English language films for me to review as I hope to slip some extra films into the schedule if I can. But if for some reason I can’t, or if you feel you can do a better job than me (which is probably true of everyone) then please feel free to guest blog about it. I’d be absolutely ecstatic to get some outside contributions to No-English Moviember (I guess I’ll shorten it to NEM).

As always thanks for reading! If you liked what you read then please follow me here on WordPress or even on Facebook and Twitter as well. Also, if you fancy writing for The Chronic Chronicler (for any reason, not just NEM), then send me an email at chronicchronicler2@gmail.com. Thanks again for reading and don’t forget to look out for NEM!

7 thoughts on “Important Announcement for November!

    1. Hello there! I’m glad you like this idea, it’s been something I’ve wanted to do for a while.

      I will not be changing the line-up as these are films, however that does not mean I am rejecting your films. I am perfectly happy to review them if I can get access to them and have already found ‘The Hunt’ on Netflix.

      If you like, I’d be more than happy if you reviewed Kon-Tiki as a Guest Blogger and as part of NEM. I really want to get people involved and get as many non-English movies reviews up here so, should I not be able to, please feel free to send the review to my email address at the end of the article.

      Again, thanks for your support of this new venture!

      Like

      1. That’s fine and hey, the offers still open if you want to review anything here if and when you’ve got the time.

        I’ll definitely have a look at The Hunt and I’ll put it in on maybe Friday 14th. Anything new I, or other people, want to write about will be put on Fridays and, when those days run out (maybe) I’ll look for another day. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Chronic Chronicler Loves…. The Iron Giant | Writer Loves Movies

    1. Having just watched the trailer for it, I can say without a doubt that I’ll be reviewing that film. Should I not find it to watch on the internet somewhere I’ll get the DVD. I’ll review it on a Friday, possibly the 21st so I definitely give myself time to get and watch it. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

